top of page

Eminem - The Slim Shady LP Album Review


This is probably gonna sound a little crazy to some people, but I've never heard the full Slim Shady LP, I've heard a few songs off it, but I've never sat down and listened to the whole thing before, so I'm really excited to hear some old school Eminem. After listening to Revival I really wanted to go back and listen to every single Eminem album, and this is apparently Eminem's best era. This should be a fun ass album. Let's get started.

1. Public Service Announcement (Skit)

This is just a funny little skit to help introduce Em. It's basically just saying how fucked this album is. It transitions perfectly into the next song.

2. My Name Is (Produced by Dr Dre)

This is a classic Eminem song. I think anybody who's even a small fan of Eminem has probably at least heard a few seconds of this track. This beat is pretty simple but it just perfectly suits Em. I swear everything he says on this track is just gold.

"Hi, kids! Do you like violence?

Wanna see me stick nine inch nails through each one of my eyelids?

Wanna copy me and do exactly like I did?

Try 'cid and get fucked up worse than my life is?"

I love how intentionally offensive he is this entire song, he was just hilarious back in the day, he did not give a fuck about anything.

"Got pissed off and ripped Pamela Lee's tits off,and smacked her so hard I knocked her clothes backwards like Kris Kross"

I don't know how he came up with lines like this hahaha. Anyway, everything about this song is great, it's catchy, easy to listen to, offensive and hilarious. This is a great start. This song is fantastic 5/5.

3. Guilty Conscience (Produced by Dr Dre and Eminem)

This is a really great song as well, I've only heard this song a few times before, but I love the beat and the storytelling all the way through. It's basically Dr Dre and Eminem rapping against each other as the good and evil sides of conscience when different people are doing fucked up shit. It starts off with a guy named Eddie going to rob a store. Eminem is being a piece of shit as usual, telling him to kill everyone, while Dre is trying to get him to think of everyone else and not do anything crazy. It then moves on to Stan, this guy at a party that's about to have sex with this chick, but she's underage. Of course Eminem is just saying to do it anyway and roofie her, it's a pretty funny but fucked up conversation. The final story is this guy Brady that comes home to find his wife cheating on him. Eminem is obviously saying to kill her, and he's being pretty fucking hilarious.

"Alright, calm down, relax, start breathin'

(Fuck that shit, you just caught this bitch cheatin'

While you at work she's with some dude tryin' to get off

Fuck slittin' her throat, cut this bitch's head off!)

Wait, what if there's an explanation for this shit?

(What, she tripped, fell, landed on his dick?)"

Eminem then turns on Dre and makes fun of the things he's done in the past, like him slapping Dee Barnes and being in N.W.A. In the end Dre just gives up and agrees with Em and Brady kills the cheating wife and the other guy. This song is amazing, it's creative, hilarious and has a dope ass beat. I love this shit. 5/5

4. Brain Damage (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

This song starts off with Em on an operating table, doctor's are performing brain surgery on him but he starts convulsing and then the song starts. This is another storytelling track where Em is in the position of a kid that gets severely bullied and starts to go insane. This is pretty graphic, and It actually seems like a fucked up true story until it gets to the part where his Mother starts beating him with a remote control so hard that his brain falls out of his skull. Then he picks it up and screams "Look, bitch, what have you done?!". This is another really captivating and amazing song to listen to. Em was just so charismatic back in the day, you can't help but pay attention to everything he said. 5/5

5. Paul (Skit)

This is a voice message from Em's attorney Paul Rosenberg, telling him he needs to tone down the album. This is a cool idea, apparently Paul wrote the skit himself, and wanted to be involved in Em's album. That's pretty dope. This is just a skit so I won't rate it, but I thought it was cool.

6. If I Had (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

Em is really thinking about his life on this song. It's a lot more introspective than everything else he's talked about so far.

"Friends are people that you think are your friends

But they're really your enemies, with secret identities

And disguises to hide their true colors

So just when you think you're close enough to be brothers

They wanna come back

And cut your throat when you ain't lookin'"

This is a really good song, I really love all of the lyrics in it so far, and what a hook.

"But if I had a million dollars

I'd buy a damn brewery and turn the planet into alcoholics

If I had a magic wand

I'd make the world suck my dick without a condom on

While I'm on the john

If I had a million bucks, it wouldn't be enough

Because I'd still be out robbin' armored trucks

If I had one wish, I would ask

For a big enough ass for the whole world to kiss"

This song is great. It's Em taking a look at how fucked up his life was back then, and I don't really have any problems with it. Plus I really like the beat. A lot. 5/5

7. 97' Bonnie & Clyde (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

This seems like it's a song that Em wrote for Hailie back when she was really young. Oh wow, I just realised what this song is, this is Eminem dumping Kim's body while he brings Hailie along for the ride. That's fucked up. Well the album cover makes a lot of sense now. Man he used to treat Kim like shit, we still don't know the whole story obviously, but it's pretty fucked up. I still like this song a lot though, it's another really creative way to tell the story, he's using baby talk the whole time, and the story's told by what he's saying to Hailie. This is crazy. He is so fucking creative, this shit is blowing my mind. This is such a dark song, but it's really fantastic, it's the kind of song you'd listen to as a part of the overall album experience, but it's still a good song if you listen to it on it's own.. 5/5

8. Bitch (Skit)

This is just a voicemail from some chick that's saying how disgusting Em is. It's another really short skit. I'm not gonna rate it.

9. Role Model (Produced by Dr Dre and Mel-Man)

This is another song I've heard before. This song is one of my favourite Eminem songs I've ever heard. The beat is absolutely amazing, and he's just fucking murdering shit for the entire track. Plus the way he starts it off is pretty damn funny. He has so many witty lines on this song;

"I'm cancerous

So when I diss, you wouldn't wanna answer this

If you responded back with a battle rap you wrote for Canibus"

"You beef with me, I'ma even the score equally

Take you on Jerry Springer and beat your ass legally"

"Some people only see that I'm white, ignorin' skill‘

Cause I stand out like a green hat with a orange bill"

This line always cracks me the fuck up whenever I hear it too.

"How the fuck can I be white? I don't even exist"

You could interpret the line as him saying that he's white light, so he's not visible, he's too unknown to exist to anyone in the hip hop game, or he's just being an idiot and saying he doesn't even exist, which would be the funniest option by far. I fucking love this song,

"I'm 'bout as normal as Norman Bates with deformative traits

A premature birth that was four minutes late"

Yeah, this shit is amazing. 5/5

10. Lounge (Skit)

This is just a bunch of people singing the hook for the next song. This is kind of an unnecessary skit, but it's pretty funny so I don't mind.

11. My Fault (Produced by Bass Brothers and Eminem)

I think this is the beginning of Eminem's sung hooks that weren't very good. This beat is pretty cool, but the hook isn't that great. This is another storytelling track. Eminem is flowing really well on this track. He's talking about how he accidentally gave this girl a whole bag of mushrooms and she's tripping big time. It's a chaotic and amusing song so far. She starts to run away and Eminem goes to find this guy named Dave and talks to him about the mushrooms since he was the one who gave Em the caps. The song ends with the chick dying. This shit is so fucking dumb but its just too ridiculous not to laugh. If this had a better hook than I'd really like this song, but this song really captures the whole Slim Shady personality, with all of it's over the top and stupid moments, so I wouldn't change anything. This isn't something I would listen to regularly because of the hook, but this is pretty funny, so I'll probably return to it. 4/5

12. Ken Kaniff (Skit)

This skit is fucking hilarious. It's about this gay guy named Ken Kaniff that calls up Eminem and says some really gay shit to him. This shit is so funny hahahah.

"Give him a piece of my mind, piece of my ass"

"Hey there cock boy"

This is one of the funniest album skits I've ever heard. I don't know how this will link into the next song but it's fucking hilarious.

13. Cum on Everybody (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

This is an iconic song apparently, this intro reminds me of Drug Ballad, one of the few song's I've heard from MMLP. I've heard people talk about this song a lot but I've never heard it so I hope it's good. Fucking hell Em.

"My favorite color is red, like the blood shed

From Kurt Cobain's head when he shot himself dead"

I feel so bad, but that shit is just so startling and it's kinda hilarious. I really like the beat on this song.

"I tried suicide once and I'll try it again

That's why I write songs where I die at the end"

This is just a fun song to listen to. It's typical Em being offensive and clever as usual. I'm not surprised this song is Iconic. I really like it, I don't have any problems with it at all to be honest. It's kinda corny, but that's fine. 4/5

14. Rock Bottom (Produced by Bass Brothers)

This seems like it's gonna be another serious song. This is about how hard it's been for Eminem to try to raise Hailie because of how poor he was at the time. I like the beat and the verses a lot, paying closer attention to the song I just noticed how crazy his rhyme scheme is. Holy fuck. This shit is amazing.

"Or comfortable and roomy in a 6

But they threw me in the mix with all these gloomy lunatics"

He's doing some crazy internal rhyming throughout this whole song.I really like this track actually. I wasn't sure if I'd like this after I heard the hook, but this is really great. The rhyme schemes are amazing and everything he's saying is super real. 5/5

15. Just Don't Give A Fuck (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

This beat sounds crazy. I love it. This song is just really capturing my attention. Slim is just rapping his ass off on this song. He's so damn witty.

"You wacker than the motherfucker you bit your style from

You ain't gon' sell two copies if you press a double album"

This is Eminem in top form, plus this beat is fucking amazing. This is definitely one of my new favourite Em songs, I'm gonna have a hard time picking the best song for this album when I'm done with my review. I have nothing negative to say about this song, it's just really interesting to listen to. His flow really fits on this sometimes, but other times it sounds really strange, but it's not a bad thing at all. This is really unique. 5/5

16. Soap (Skit)

This is a parody of a soap opera with really bad accents, it's pretty funny, but not as funny as some of the other skits.

17. As The World Turns (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

This is good ass beat. Em is in good form again on this song. His fucking rhyme schemes are almost exhausting to try to keep up with sometimes. This shit is crazy. It has a lot of shit going on. This is a weird ass fucking song. Now I think he's trying to rape some chick but she fights back and runs away, then he follows her and she looks like shes gonna have sex with him, but she attacks him and eats his leg (I know, it's weird). Em then says "go-go gadget dick" and it causes an earthquake and power outage because of how huge his dick is. He then fucks this chick to death. It's such a stupid story on paper that it shouldn't work, but he manages to make himself charismatic and likeable even with all the fucked up shit he's saying. This is such a weird song and messed up song, but it's still really fucking dope somehow. This is another storytelling song with incredible rhymes all the way through. 5/5

18. I'm Shady (Produced by Bass Brothers and Co Produced by Eminem)

I really like this beat. Em is killing this shit.

"(Slim Shady…) so come and kill me while my name's hot

And shoot me 25 times in the same spot

I think I got a generation brainwashed

To pop pills and smoke pot 'til they brains rot

Stop they blood flow until they veins clot

I need a pain shot and a shot of plain Scotch

Purple haze and acid raindrops

Spike the punch at the party and drink pop

Shaved my armpits and wore a tank top

Bad Boy, I told you that I can't stop"

He's rhyming like crazy on this song. I'm surprised how much I like this hook. The instrumental just makes it work.I really like this song a lot. I'm honestly shocked by how many amazing songs are on this album that I've never heard before. I'm really looking forward to listening to the rest of Em's discography now. This is such a good song. All of Em's rhymes are so damn entertaining. The song gets better the longer I listen. This shit is fantastic. 5/5

19. Bad Meets Evil (feat. Royce Da 5'9") (Produced by Bass Brothers and Eminem)

I already know this is gonna be good. I wonder how dope Royce was in 1999. These two were amazing together in the late 2000s, I can only imagine them back in 99. Oh fuck. Em is going in now. Fuck Royce is shredding this shit right now what the fuck.

"Intelligence level is hellier than treble peakin'

On speakers in the ghetto

Dismissal, I'm not a fair man

Disgraced the race of an atheist

Interceptin' missiles with my bare hands like a patriot"

"The disaster with dreads

I'm bad enough to commit suicide

And survive long enough to kill my soul after I'm dead"

This shit is even crazier than I thought it would be. Royce was fucking amazing on this song holy fuck. Em murdered everything as well.

"I don't speak, I float in the air, wrapped in a sheet

I'm not a real person, I'm a ghost trapped in a beat

I translate when my voice is read through a seismograph

And the noise is spread

Picked up and transmitted through Royce's head"

This shit is fucking incredible, this album is shaping up to be one of the most entertaining I've ever heard. 5/5

20. Still Don't Give A Fuck (Produced by Bass Brothers and Eminem)

This beat is fucking amazing. Man I can tell already that this is a 5/5. This is so dope.

"I walked into a gunfight with a knife to kill you

And cut you so fast, when your blood spilled it was still blue

I'll hang you till you dangle and chain you with both ankles

And pull you apart from both angles"

This shit is fucking amazing.

"Now how in the fuck am I supposed to get out of debt?

I can't rap anymore, I just murdered the alphabet"

This song is so dope. This is an incredible way to finish the album, constant rhymes, bars, flows and amazing production. I love this track too, this is one of my new favourite Eminem songs. 5/5

Final Thoughts​​

I think it says a lot about this album that there isn't a single song I didn't enjoy. Even my least favourite song on the album is still a good ass song, I just didn't think it was amazing. I don't think I have a favourite song, all of the songs that I gave a five are amazing in their own way, and they're all pretty unique, so whatever song I end up choosing, I still think all of the other tracks are just as dope. This album was absolutely incredible. If I didn't calculate these scores mathematically I would be tempted to just give this shit a Ten. I loved almost every second of this album, even the skits are all worth listening to, especially Ken Kaniff. I can't wait to go and listen to the Marshall Mathers LP. I don't think it'll top this, but I'm sure it'll be amazing as well. I'm 100% ready for this shit. This album has really made me understand why some people think Eminem is the best rapper to ever do it. He just has this certain quality where he's completely captivating and you want to listen to every word he says. Well, at least he used to. Anyway, onto the next review. This completely improved my mood after listening to Revival.

Overall Rating: 97/100

Favourite Track: Bad Meets Evil

Least Favourite: My Fault

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page